DNV honours residents

The District of North Vancouver has recognized four residents for making significant contributions to the community.

Mary-Sue Atkinson, Ianice Harris, ZoAnn Morten and Peter Thompson all received an Award of Honour at the district's April 7 council meeting. The award is presented to individuals or organizations that have made an "outstanding contribution to the community," according to a press release. That may include achievements in sports, science and culture, either within the district.

the province, nationally or internationally. It can also include acts of philanthropy or heroism.

Atkinson's service extends back almost 20 years. She has volunteered with the Seymour Salmonid Society, Pacific Fisheries Resource Conservation Council, North Shore Streamkeepers, Coho Society, Kidney Foundation and Canadian Cancer Society.

Harris was a district councillor from 1990 to 2004, during which time she supported a range of environmental, cultural and social initiatives and policies. She served as mayor from 2004 to 2005, and returned to the role of councillor following the 2005 municipal election before retiring in 2008.

Morten has been involved in a number of volunteer organizations for decades. Her current volunteer efforts include work with the Morten Creek Salmon Enhancement Project, North Shore Streamkeepers, North Shore Emergency Management Office, Hillside Church, Salmon Advisory Board and, until recently, the North Shore Osteoporosis Club.

Thompson, a retired

professional engineer, serves on the executive committee of the Edgemont and Upper Capilano Community Association, and also represents his community on the Edgemont Planning Working Group. He is currently a member of the Community Advisory Committee for the Lions Gate Secondary Wastewater Treatment Plant.

The Award of Honour is one of the highest awards the district can present to an individual for community service. It has only been presented on nine other occasions.

— Christine Lyon